top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Dixon

Spoken Word, First Performance "Let Your Light Shine"


Really enjoyed another Friday night at Etcetera coffee shop's open mic night! I performed my first spoken word poem, I had a lot of nerves but I did it! Such a great atmosphere, very happy to have had the opportunity to perform as well as hear some really great music and poems! I read a poem I wrote last week called "Let Your Light Shine" Which I'll post below.


Let Your Light Shine © 2018 Renee Dixon

These words have been hidden in the shadows of the thoughts I've had, buried deep within my mind, sometimes they become so lost, even I cant find...them.

These words aren't formed with ink, but formed by tears. By my deepest fears. I want to say them out loud, and I'll try. But I struggle to open my mouth, when I just want to hide.

The world out there has become darker, these words are like blood stained truths, and there are sharks lurking in the water. We're all so afraid of offending one another, maybe if we stop pretending and start befriending one another.

We're all God's children, we all exist together. We're supposed to turn the other cheek, not turn an eye so we don't have to see. The suffering. The pain. The need.

To reach out, to speak out. To come out, from those hidden shadows and into the light. Take up your sword, don't be afraid to fight. For what's right. Don't be afraid to stand up for what matters, so what if the world looks at us like a bunch of mad hatters.

If you see something good in someone... let it out. You don't know how many people have tried to bring them down...keep them down. We are all sinners, we all make mistakes, and we know God's forgiveness is all that it takes.

These words might not be loved by all, but they speak for themselves, on their own they stand tall. Because love conquers all...and God is love, and we were made in his likeness. These words are meant to be heard. They could never stay hidden, when they shine with such brightness.

The truth is we all feel pain, we all have hurt. We all don't see, our very worth. We're not mere accidents here on earth, by chance. We're center-stage, and our life's... a dance. You might have two left feet, but there are no judges. But God himself, and he don't hold grudges.

These words want to take you by the arm, pull you onto the floor. If you can't dance, they'll lift you up and you will soar. There is no sitting in a corner anymore, feeling alone, staring at your phone. These words want to dance, with your soul. Show you there is more to life than the shadows. If nobody wants to dance, DANCE ALONE... but your never alone...

Who cares if they're watching, we want them to watch. We want them to see there is no holding back anymore, let them see your feet hit that floor. No more closed doors. Or closed minds. These words are just as much your words as they are mine. So open your eyes, and don't ever be afraid...to let your light shine.


©2018 Renee Dixon



My one and only, love my husband (Eddie) so much. He is so supportive of my writing and pushing me towards my dreams and goals.


Eddie doodled this on my coffee cup, and since I am 7 months pregnant I found it amusing :D


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page