top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Dixon

“Are You There God? It's Me Margaret” by Judy Blume, My Childhood Hero, Changed My Life!



I can still remember the exact shelf and location where I first stumbled upon Judy Blume in my elementary school library. I was a quirky fourth grader, just branching out into the big world of books. It actually all started with “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing” and all of the “Fudge” books. I needed AR points and wanted to find a good book, and boy did I! I bet I read “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing” in a couple of hours, never stopping to put it down. The way she brought the characters to life, and the humor in her writing, captivated me from page one.

I wanted more. So I read all of the “Fudge” books. Then “Freckle Juice”, “Otherwise Known as Sheila The Great”, “Tiger Eyes”, and eventually “Are You There God? It's Me Margaret”. It didn't take long to realize, I had a favorite author, and a good one. I loved her writing style, and seeing how books could be brought to life through such talented writing, inspired me to keep writing. At an early age I started writing poetry, and probably after discovering the many great books of Judy Blume, I started dabbling in my own short stories.

Are You There God? It's Me Margaret” was by far my favorite. I read that one when I was in fifth grade. You know, that awkward time when you start to learn about womanhood, periods, bras, and acne. As a young girl these things are like hidden life secrets, that you want to know more about but are too embarrassed to ask questions. Then Judy Blume comes to the rescue with a book that just takes an adolescent girl by the hand and shows her that coming of age is....okay! After reading this book, I didn't feel so scared about all the changes I was going through.

As a Christian growing up, it also made me feel confident in going to God for help. Praying to him for guidance. That's another reason I find this book was so influential on me, not just as a writer, but as a child of God. I have Judy Blume to thank for that. Funny how you can read hundreds, or thousands of books... and yet some of them stay in your heart forever. Even funnier how “Are You There God? It's Me Margaret” was published in 1970, about twenty years before I was even born!

Some books are timeless, just like some authors are timeless. I am now pregnant with my own daughter, and I have no wish to rush time... but when she becomes a quirky preteen looking for answers, I know exactly which book I will be sharing with her. A book that will have then been written nearly forty years before her time. I will share with her a talented author that inspired me to become the writer I am today, Judy Blume, my childhood hero. Can't believe she will be turning 80 this year!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page