top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenee Dixon

Love Blossoms Within

I have two sons that I love deeply. My dreams of tutus and satin bows, replaced completely. Not once, but twice, with dinosaurs, more vehicles than I can name, booby traps in diverse places, dirt caked onto smiling faces. Laughter at all things yucky.

But you see, I consider myself lucky. I never knew the love between a mother and a son, until I had one...then two. Another thing I never knew, was how my heart could melt, at the feelings felt, when my sons called me honey. Trying to be like daddy. Whats the matter honey, from a three year old. Warms every part of you that is feeling cold. A fire to your soul.

No compliment is more believable, than the one coming from your three year old. At that age, they just don't lie. So when he tells you, you look like a pretty princess, he really means it. When he only wants you because he's feeling sick, seize it. Yes all those little things made me quickly forget, my desires for a little girl. Because these boys, they became my world.

Then one day when things were going great, and we had just moved. A bomb was dropped in my lap, unexpected news. This family of four was no more, because inside of me was another life. Four smiled at approaching five. Could it really be, I was in disbelief. I had no idea, this, was the plan God had for me.

Another chance at....at.... a daughter? Even if I had a third son, just knowing... it was possible. Gave me a whole new perspective, and a lot of hope. A reignited fire inside my soul. When we found out the news, it was utter shock, it rocked my world. Was it true...could it be? Inside of me...a GIRL?

Both our dreams came true, when we found out that news. Our tune so upbeat, with a family...complete. Daddy would have his little princess, he'll be wrapped around her finger shortly. Mommy's own little girl, to be, my mini me. These little boys, a sister to protect. And God be with, anyone who tries to interject.

Funny how we want things a certain way, until we see. God knows exactly what is best for you and me. Now I have a baby girl of my own, growing in my womb, and soon...she'll be home. Where she'll find a dad to love her , a mom to hold her, and two big brothers to watch over her... as she grows. As she blooms, into a stunning, beautiful, blossoming Rose.


©2018 Renee Dixon


https://www.facebook.com/ReneeDixonWrites/


A poem written for my unborn daughter Rose, during my pregnancy, after having two sons. I am really blessed! It's going to be a wild adventure having a daughter after having two sons. I hear little girls are much different than little boys, but I'm excited for the motherhood adventure!


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page